Gaming Tech News

Rocket League Championship Series will come to Africa and Asia

Pro gamers will be able to compete in Asia-Pacific North, Asia-Pacific South and Middle East & North Africa regions in the upcoming season.

Taken from Engadget … Psyonix has revealed details for the next Rocket League Championship Series season, and it’s looking to take the esport to new heights. Not only will the 2021-22 RCLS have the biggest prize pool of any season with $6 million up for grabs, there will be three new regions in the biggest expansion to date.

The inclusion of the Asia-Pacific North, Asia-Pacific South and Middle East & North Africa regions mean that players in dozens more countries can compete in pro Rocket League in the upcoming season. Teams in Japan, South Korea, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Algeria, Egypt, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates and several other nations can take part in the RCLS for the first time.

Although the Sub-Saharan Africa region won’t have full participation in the 2021-22 RCLS, teams there still have a shot at getting to the World Championship. Two wildcard spots are earmarked for the best teams from tournaments in that region.

The 2021-22 RCLS regular season will run from October 15th until July 3rd, with the World Championship wildcard and main event tournaments scheduled for later that month. Sixteen teams will qualify for the wildcard tournament. The top eight will join another eight squads that progress directly to the main event. The championship-winning team will earn $600,000.

Source: Engadget


Related Articles

DIRT 5 is the First Next-Gen Game From Codemasters


New Security Vulnerabilities Found Affecting AMD EPYC Processors


The Last of Us Part II Delayed Says Sony


Leave a Comment